Account verification
Making sure that Ninox accounts are associated with existing email addresses
Verifying a Ninox account adds a necessary layer of security to protect data integrity and secure workflows. It is required in both the Ninox Public Cloud and Private Cloud, though the process to do so is different for each environment.
Public Cloud
When an account is created in the Ninox Public Cloud, an email with a verification link is sent to the account's email address. This link must then be opened to signal to the Public Cloud's user registry that the email address exists. A user logging into the Public Cloud with an unverified account will see a popup informing them about this and offering to resend the email. Once the verification is done, working in the Public Cloud is made possible.
If a Public Cloud user creates their Ninox account by clicking the link in an invitation email they have received from another user, the account is automatically verified as the invitation also acts as the verification.
Private Cloud
If a user is invited into the workspace of a Private Cloud in which no account with that email address exists yet, an account is created when the invitation is accepted. This also immediately verifies the address (same as in the Public Cloud).
A Private Cloud user with full access to the Ninox Settings can both manually create an account or change an existing account's email address. In either case upon saving the changes, the verification status of the account will automatically be set to "false". The user to whom the account belongs will then have to log into the Private Cloud where they will see a popup asking for verification. Here the (re)sending of the email containing the verification link can be triggered. The user will only be able to work in that Private Cloud once the verification has been performed by opening the link.
