App cloud sync ?s
I moved my DB to the cloud.
I can access it now on my other Mac so that greats as my wife can acces it now.
But now i see i no longer have the edit features to makes changes to things or add things. It no longer has the tool in the upper right in the cloud version.
Is this normal to not be able to edit it now?
I still have a non cloud version but they do not sync so when i change some text or add in a new record it is not synced to my local version.
Any way to make them both keep up with each other?
I do not see any button or item to click on to synce them up.
Just to be clear, you are talking about iCloud not cloud.
if you are then take a look at my comments in this post.
So how do you do the "reorganize" the DB - not sure i need to do that.
I will use the main MAC for data in put.
But can the second system send out e-mails with no problem?
Here is what i have it down to now. two of them the CL is the one i put in my ICloud.
When i add in new customers into the CL version can it some how also update the other one so i have a version of it all i can access if our internet is down?
Here is the CL version it has no edit feature so i can not edit it to make any changes? Can not add on more.
Why dose it not have the edit tool.? I would have to make a edit to the other non CL one but then if it is not synced up how would all that work.
I have two new jobs i need to enter in today at some point. so not sure what one i should add it to?
If you mouse over a DB a down arrow will appear in the upper right corner of the DB. Click on that and then select reorganize.
I've never used the email function so I don't know. I'm guessing it will work without the device being the owner. You only need to be owner to make structural changes.
You have to make sure that you close the DB on one device before changes are seen in the other. It is not a multi-user environment where data is live sync'd between devices and user.
Ok i did the reorganize and i see i now have the edit tool back on my main system.
But what about the non CL version that has not updated.
Yesterday when i first put the CL in ICloud i had fixed a few things and the fixed items are not saving out to the non CL version.
Is that not possible?
You are looking at two different DBs. You have to manually copy any changes (structural or data) between the two. They are not linked and in the MacOS app there is no way, that I'm aware of, of linking them. If they were in the cloud then maybe you can use APIs to copy data but there wouldn't be a way to copy structural changes.
- 1 yr agoLast active
- 2 Following