Using if statements and date calculations to display yes or no based on variable.

I'm new to this program so forgive me, I'm trying to implement an idea rapidly without understanding how complex...or not complex I am going with my attempt at functions... and failing. 

This is a basic vaccine calculator. If an entry received his/her vaccine on a date and has 21 days before returning for the second. On the 21st day a cell will display a green check mark icon which lets us know that they are eligible for us to call with a reminder. <--- simple example. 

There are several vaccine types with different numbers of days for them to return. Also, after the second vaccine they will have 5 months before they return, and after the 3rd if they are over 50 they'll have 4 months before they return for the final vaccination. 

Here is an ugly sketch,

(dose 1 date) if Vaccine type = Pfizer and today = (dose 1 date +21)
then eligibility = true

else if

(dose 1 date) if Vaccine type = Moderna and today = (dose 1 date +28)
then eligibility = true

else if

//maybe one or two more vaccine types i.e. Janssen or a couple of foreign brands//

(dose 2 date)  If today (dose 2 date >/= 5mo)

then eligibility = true

else if

(dose 3 date) and age >49 and today(dose 3 date >/= 4mo)

then eligibility = true

End

If eligibility=true, display a green checkmark icon in the corresponding cell. 

I'm gonna keep looking at videos and manuals and hammering away at it until something works or breaks... but if someone could polish the above turd I'd greatly appreciate it. 

8 replies

null
    • John_Halls
    • 1 yr ago
    • Reported - view

Hi

I've not fleshed this out but I would use a lookup table and check against it for patients eligible for a further dose.

Create a  script to run through the patients and create a join record when this happens, to join the patient to the lookup. The join table can hold additional fields to track actions going forward.

Regards John

• creative